About District

The undivided Khowai had started its administrative set up from the year 1910 A.D. under SDO, Sri Trivani Kumar Bardhan. Khowai Sub-Division when undivided was the 2nd largest Sub-Division in Tripura and also among the first 10 subdivisions in the state. It was divided into two Sub-Divisions namely Khowai and Teliamura in the year 2006. The district is flanked by Bangladesh on the north, Amarpur and Gandacharra on the south, Kamalpur & Ambassa on the east and Mohanpur and Jirania Sub Division on the west. The Atharamura range runs along the eastern side of the District while the western side is bordered by the Baramura Range. Khowai River, the primary river from which the district also takes its name, starts from its source at Nunacherra and passes through Khowai Town.

The Administrative set up of the District consists of 6 Blocks and 3 Revenue Circles and 19 Tehsil Offices. The location of Khowai District Head Quarter is at Khowai Office tilla. The district consists of 6 assembly constituencies.

The population consists of Bengalis and Tripuris and both languages i.e. Bengali and Kokborok are spoken. The main festivals are Durga Puja, Saraswati puja, Kharchi and Garia Pooja. Khowai has a rich cultural history and is a well known for its people’s movement on literacy (Jan shiksha andolan) as well as against Titun pratha by three sisters Kumari, Madhuti and Rupashri. Tripura celebrates the Martyrs Day on 28th March every year in memory of Rupashri Debbarma, Kumari Debbarma and Madhuti Debbarma. Two Chief Ministers of the state, Late Nripen Chakraborty and Late Dasrath Deb, also hail from the area.